Archive for the ‘History’ Category

Amazing lightshow at the Customs House

Photos: Kevin Elfleet

Photos: Kevin Elfleet

Visitors to Lynn’s iconic Custom House can see an amazing lightshow projected onto the building every evening for the next few months.

The show called ‘Night Sailors’ is the creation of artist Julia Dantonnet, and forms part of the borough council’s two-year Art, Cities and Landscape project with Maison De La Culture in Amiens, France.

Inspired by sailors past, including George Vancouver, who were able to go overseas and discover the world by observing celestial bodies with measuring instruments – compass, arbalestrille, astrolabe and sextant. This installation enlightens one of King’s Lynn’s most iconic landmarks with architectural projections, inviting people to explore the town’s historical, cultural and scientific heritage.

The light show lasts about 15 minutes and takes place at 10pm every evening and is repeated until 11.30pm. Shows will continue daily over the next few months but will start earlier as the nights draw in.

Print Friendly

Michael Portillo opens refurbished railway station

Broadcaster Michael Portillo came to King’s Lynn on Tuesday morning to re-open the re-furbished 1950′s style railway station.

He said he thought it was very fitting the station was decorated in blue, as it was after all a Royal Station!

Michael Portillo arrives at King's Lynn station

Michael Portillo arrives at King’s Lynn station

Dr Paul Richards gives Michael a copy of his book about the Hanseatic League.

Dr Paul Richards gives Michael a copy of his book about the Hanseatic League.

About to unveil the plaque!

About to unveil the plaque!

Unveiling the plaque

Unveiling the plaque

The plaque

The plaque

Signing autographs

Signing autographs

Print Friendly

A Peek at our Week

sock toy by Alana Cooper, Setchey

We start with a look at our latest ‘family member’ – A sock toy made by Alana Cooper, who runs Canetoad Crafts in Setchy near King’s Lynn. (facebook.com/canetoadcraft)

We came across Alana while visiting the Rainbow Craft Summer Solstice in Tydd St Mary near Long Sutton over the weekend. It was a wonderful afternoon, with dozens of unique craft stalls and some excellent live music.

They are planning to bring back the show next year, and it should be well worth another visit!

One of the musicians playing was Mickey Flynn (mickeyflynn.com) who certainly rocked the festival with his raspy voice and mean guitar playing.

Mickey now lives in Suffolk, after touring the country as a lead guitarist and frontman with various bands for over 25 years.

hardwick road cemetery graves railway disaster

Dr Julian Litten led us on a fascinating guided tour of Hardwick Road Cemetery on Sunday called ‘Blown to Kingdom Come’.

We saw the tombstones of John and Susannah Laird, two of the ‘unfortunate sufferers whose death was caused on the Lynn and Hunstanton Railway’ in 1863.

5 people were killed when a train from Hunstanton to Lynn hit a bullock resulting in their carriage being ‘smashed utterly to pieces.”

Amongst other deceased ‘blown to kingdom come’ in the cemetery was Alice Gazley who was ‘killed during raid by German airship on King’s Lynn” on January 19th 1915.

hardwickroadcemetery.co.uk

Montage by Peter Swann

Montage by Peter Swann

On the right is a montage of memories from South Africa by artist Peter Swann. This was one of the works we saw at the 5 IN 3D Exhibition at Greyfriars Art Space in St James Street.

The intriguing sculptures by Ben Emerson looked deceptively like bits of wreckage from old war machines, but they are in fact made from ceramics. Such titles as Warbird, Depth Charge and Fuselage F250 will give you an idea of the kind of work he does.

We really enjoyed the excellent mixed media exhibition which also included works by other local artists Ben Emerson, Ann Roberts and Tom Thompson.

The 5 IN 3D Exhibition is open until July 4th from 10am to 4pm. When you are in town, the free exhibition is certainly worth making a detour for!

greyfriarsartspace.co.uk

Turning to a different subject, while visiting the Body Shop at Springfields near Spalding we were told the branch in Lynn has NOT been closed but it is being ‘refurbished.’

Finally a couple of interesting websites we can recommend to you:

britainfromabove.org.uk presents the unique Aerofilms collection of aerial photographs from 1919-1953, including some intersting ones of King’s Lynn.

archivealive.org Contains Hundreds of archive films from Norfolk, Suffolk, Essex, Cambridgeshire.

Print Friendly

Fascinating guided walks of the North End

Pilot Street Now and Then

Pilot Street – Then and Now (composite image)

For the next few months visitors can once again enjoy some fascinating guided walks around the historic North End fishing quarter of King’s Lynn.

True's Yard Cottages

The 2 Georgian fisherfolk cottages at True’s which have recently been refurbished. One is decorated in the Victorian style and the other 1930s.

Highlights of the walks include Pilot Street, the ‘High Street of the North End’, tales of smuggling and murders, Thomas Westwood’s Smokehouse and a visit to the last two remaining fisherfolk cottages in the town. New to the tour this year is the Tuesday Market Place and its fisherfolk connections.

Each tour is different and families are welcome. The tours begin and end at the True’s Yard Museum where refreshments are available to purchase.

The North End Guided Walks the place every Wednesday at 1pm until the end of September, and on Saturdays at 11am during June, July & August

The price is £4.00 which includes admission to the Museum. Children are half price. Group and private bookings are also available.

Contact True’s Yard for more information on 01553 770479 or email info@truesyard.co.uk

www.truesyard.co.uk

 

 

Print Friendly

A Peek at our Week

hardwick road cemetary website

This week we heard about the fabulous new website for the Friends of Hardwick Road Cemetery. The new site has been in beta mode since January and is already generating several enquiries each month.

They are planning to expand the Gallery Section over the coming months, and keep the site updated with details of the Heritage Lottery project ‘Yesterday’s People for Today’s Society’ that will result in installation of six information panels around the cemetery in early July and the start of the conservation of 7 memorials. You can find a list of their upcoming walks for 2014 on the new website can at hardwickroadcemetery.co.uk

We went to a fascinating talk about carved angels in the roofs of Norfolk churches. Of course we have some fabulous carved angels in the roof of our own St Nicholas Chapel, but you check out some of the others here … angelroofs.com

We were told that Norfolk Wildlife are running events throughout the year in the Gaywood Valley. You can view all the events by downloading the events leaflet (pdf).

And lastly, we very much enjoyed the Hanse Festival. It was a beautiful day for it, and it certainly brought the crowds out.

The evening concert on King Staithe Square was very relaxing. We enjoyed a pint of cider while listening to the wonderful Mediaeval Babes.

You can view a great selection of photos of the festival HERE and HERE

Print Friendly

Hansa Festival ~ more pictures

Pictures kindly supplied to us by Kevin Elfleet:

Hanse_Image0006

Hanse_Image0007

Hanse_Image0008

Hanse_Image0009

Hanse_Image0010

Hanse_Image0011

Hanse_Image0001

Hanse_Image0002

Hanse_Image0003

Hanse_Image0004

Hanse_Image0005

Print Friendly

Lynn’s vintage ‘Cooper Car’ launches new event

Cllrs Chris Crofts and Nick Daubney try out the Cooper Car.

Cllrs Chris Crofts and Nick Daubney try out the Cooper Car.

One of King’s Lynn’s true hidden gems was rolled out onto the car park of Cooper Roller Bearings on Friday. The ‘Cooper Car’ is one of only 6 ever made at the Cooper Factory in the early 1900s, and is the only surviving example.

The car will be taking part in the first ever King’s Lynn Classic Car Day, taking place on 14 September 2014, as part of this year’s Heritage Open Days.

King's Lynn Councillors and representatives of Coopers launch the new Classic Car Day.

The Mayor of King’s Lynn and West Norfolk, Councillors and representatives of Coopers launch the new Classic Car Day.

The new event is the brainchild of Cllr Chris Crofts, who himself owns a classic 1973 Vauxhall Viva 4-door saloon.

He explained: “Hundreds of people visit the town for Heritage Open Days and I felt that by putting an additional attraction on along the waterfront that people would also head there and enjoy the environment, support the businesses in that area, and take advantage of visiting the historic buildings that surround the waterside. The quay front is perfect for lining up the classic cars for people to view.”

The drivers view looks very different to modern cars!

The drivers view looks very different to modern cars!

The event was launched launched on Friday, to encourage owners of classic vehicles to get in touch and register their vehicle online atwest-norfolk.gov.uk.

Cllr Crofts added: “Many people will be unaware that cars were ever made in King’s Lynn. To be able to display the only surviving example at our Classic Car Day means a great deal to us, and we are confident it will attract people to the event. We are truly grateful to Cooper’s for agreeing to this opportunity.”

Pat Smith, Site Director at Cooper Roller Bearings Company Ltd, said: “Cooper has over 120 years of history in the town, having been continually based on the Wisbech Road site. Today the company is known throughout the world as the leader and specialist in the design and manufacture of split bearing technologies. However, in the early days Cooper also produced Steam Diggers, Bombs, Clutches and even a few Cars!

“We are proud of our engineering heritage and long association with King’s Lynn. Therefore we welcome the opportunity to participate in this event by displaying the Cooper car, and greatly look forward to joining the many classic car enthusiasts and visitors for the day.”

The event will take place between 10am and 4pm on Sunday, 14 September. Anyone wishing to show their vehicle will need to complete the online exhibitor’s entry form by 10 August 2014.

Alison Gifford, Chair of the King’s Lynn Civic Society, which organises the Heritage Open Day, added: “This really is an exciting addition to what is already a very popular day.”

The Mayor, Cllr Barry Ayres, said: “As Mayor and a keen classic car enthusiast myself, I am absolutely delighted to be involved with this event. I am really looking forward to the day and hope that many enthusiasts like me, will come along to exhibit their vehicles.”

Print Friendly

Hanse Day 2014 will be packed with events

Hanse Day Fest (1) 600

A fantastic firework display will be a fitting finale to the International Hanse Day celebrations on Saturday 17 May 2014.

A packed programme of events and activities has been put together to showcase the town’s Hanseatic links past and present. Festival fun begins from 10am with children’s activities in the Town Hall. Through the day there will be guided walks along the Hanseatic waterfront and through the mediaeval town.

At 12 noon minstrels, fire breathers and horses with riders will process through the town, around the historic quarter, then up High Street to the Tuesday Market Place and back again to encourage people to the waterfront, providing additional entertainment for visitors to the town.

In the Hanse House there will be a mediaeval market, archery, and a series of craft demonstrations including calligraphy, blacksmithing, tile-making, pottery and wool/textile processes.

Children’s activities including making herring kites and making signal flags take place all day in the Stone Hall at the Town Hall and Medieaval dancing takes place in the Assembly Rooms at the Town Hall throughout the day.

Clifton House Tower, the only surviving merchant’s tower in King’s Lynn (originally one of four), will open to visitors from 11am – 4pm. Entrance is from King Staithe Lane. Entrance is £3.50 for adults and £1.50 for children under 16. Clifton House Tower was built in around 1570 for the merchant George Walden and contains a museum, period rooms and has a spectacular view of the town from the roof.

Music is a big feature for this year’s festival with local band Jessie’s Ghost on stage at King’s Staithe Square from 4.30pm. Formed in early 2010, Jessie’s Ghost are a 5-piece acoustic pop-folk band from East Anglia. Combining honest acoustic song writing, with multiple part vocal harmonies, they have carved a niche in the local music scene with their unique sound.

Estonian band Paabel will be performing from 5.30pm. Comprising versatile musicians displaying warmth, ferocity and youthful energy, Paabel’s sound blends time-honoured traditions with contemporary textures and improvisational freedom.

Norwegian group Eplemoya Songlag build on the Norwegian music tradition of combining bizarre stories with beautiful and enchanting melodies. The three group members come from different singing backgrounds and use those differences to create a sound that is new and fresh, with lyrics that are relevant today and resonate with people.

Mediaeval Babes will headline the event on Saturday.

Mediaeval Babes will headline the event on Saturday.

The Mediaeval Baebes, and exquisite English classical choral ensemble are headlining the concert at 8pm. The Mediaeval Baebes began in 1996 when a group of friends broke into a North London cemetery and sang together, clad in flowing white gowns and crowns of Ivy. The initial idea of getting a few friends together to sing quickly escalated into the epic adventure that is this most unique of musical ensembles.

Sourcing lyrics from mediaeval and romantic texts and setting them to original scores using mediaeval and folk instruments, whilst singing in an impressive array of obscure and ancient languages, the Baebes offer a beguiling musical beauty and outstanding talent.

The fireworks will begin at 9.30pm from the new pontoons on the South Quay, providing a fitting finale to the day of celebrations.

Cllr Nick Daubney, Leader of the Borough Council and the English Commissioner to the Hanse, said: “This is our biggest International Hanse Day celebration yet. There really is something for everyone and we hope people will come along to enjoy the atmosphere and take part in the activities.”

“Our links with our Hanseatic colleagues are crucial and we want people to be more aware of what the Hanse is and why it is so important. International Hanse Day is all about raising awareness of the Hanse League and getting people to celebrate the links past and present that help the 182 cities that form the Hanse to thrive.”

“I am delighted that we will be hosting two VIP Guests from the Hanse League, Manfred Schürkamp, Manager of the Westphalian Hanseatic League and member of the presidium of the International Hanseatic League and Marion Köhn, Director, Business Hanse. We are looking forward to showing them how King’s Lynn celebrates this important day.”

Most of the activities are based around the historic quarter, providing lots of opportunities for food and drink in local establishments. There will also be seating for the concerts along with a cocktail bar serving alcoholic and non-alcoholic drinks, hog roasts and BBQ. Seating will be offered on a first come, first served basis.

INTERNATIONAL HANSE DAY PROGRAMME

Saturday 17 May

King’s Staithe Square

16.30 Jessie’s Ghost (from King’s Lynn)
17.30 Paabel (from Estonia)
18.30 Eplemoya (from Norway)
20.00 Mediaeval Baebes (from England)

Town Hall

10.00 – 13.00 Children’s Activities (Stone Hall) – Making Herring Kites
13.30 – 16.30 Mediaeval Dance (assembly Room) – hourly
14.00 – 17.00 Children’s Activities (Stone Hall) – Making Signal Flags

Quayside

10.00 Hanse Car Rally Display (All day)
11.00 Walking the Hanseatic Waterfront
14.00 Hanseatic Guided Walk (Town Guides)
21.30 Fireworks at South Quay Pontoons

Hanse House – Activities 12-6PM

Craft Demonstrations:
Shoemaking & jewellery work
Calligraphy & Illumination
Tilemaking
Wool/Textile processess
Pottery

Mediaeval Market
Have a go at Archery
Storytelling
Mediaeval Cooking

All Saints Church

17.00 Hanseatic Classical Music Concert (featuring Beethoven, Brahms, Chopin and more).

Street Entertainment 12-6pm

Horses & riders, Minstrels, Fire Breathers will be appearing around the town and along the quayside

Clifton House (Tower only) 11am-4pm

Entrance £3.50 for adults & £1.50 for children under 16

Sunday 18 May

King’s Lynn Minster

11.25 Civic procession from Town Hall to King’s Lynn Minster
11.30 Civic Service at King’s Lynn Minster

Hanse House Activities 11am-4pm

Mediaeval Market
Have a go at Archery
Storytelling

Print Friendly

Things we learned this week

What We Learned 300

It’s surprising what you can learn about local life just by going to local events, strolling around the town, talking to people, picking up leaflets or even just looking at posters in shop windows.

Visiting a couple of events over the weekend, we discovered that the King’s Lynn Horticultural Society (KLHS) is celebrating it’s 125th anniversary this year.

The “active and friendly” society was established back in 1889. The hand-written minutes of their annual meeting from 1891 were recently discovered in somebody’s loft.

KLHS 1891 minutes

To quote from the 1891 minutes:

“The “annual show” was held in unfortunately bad weather and owing to the rain and wind great expectations were not realised owing to the collapse of the tents … Had the show been held on a fine day your Committee venture to think that the show would have surpassed anything of the kind that had ever taken place in King’s Lynn.”

You can find out more about the society at klhs.co.uk

Then we we came across the Jive Survivors, who were doing their thing on Baxters Plain in the Vancouver Quarter. You can see them jiving in the photo!

Jive Survivors Baxters Plain VQ 600

jive survivors leaflet 300

They were handing out their leaflets to “likely looking people” and told us the group were open a to all age groups, and they all had great fun!

Jive Survivors describe themselves as “a self run group of friendly local people who just love to Jive.” They meet every Sunday at 7.30 at the The William Burt Centre, West Winch.

jivesurvivors.co.uk

 

Dersingham Village Fair Posterr

Next, we met West Norfolk landscape photographer Jo Halpin Jones who was selling her asparagus in the Walks, and gave us a leaflet about the Dersingham Village Fair, Opens Gardens and Art Studios.

This year’s event takes place over the late May Bank Holiday, and is called “Dersingham in May”. It brings together Open Gardens, an Art Trail and a Village Fair in what should be a fantastic weekend of something for people of all ages. There’s a grand opening by the Mayor of King’s Lynn at 12 noon on the Sunday.

There’s going to be plenty of gardens to wander round, and some of the gardens will be part of the Dersingham Art Trail so you can pop into a few art studios, chat to the artists and study their work. There will also be stalls in St Nicholas Court offering craftwork, plants, delicious foods and wine.

Ken Warner’s Cocktail Jazz Band will entertain in the church on Monday afternoon. Cream teas have always been a part of the Open Gardens experience, and are now extended to include lunches too.

Find out more about Jo Halpin Jones at johalpinjones.com and the Dersingham Village fair at dersinghaminmay.org.uk

Print Friendly

Celebrating the brilliant Burney family

Charles Burney and his daughter Fanny Burney

Charles Burney and his daughter Fanny Burney

King’s Lynn will celebrate its Georgian heritage and the famous Burney family when it holds the Burney Festival this summer (Friday 6 – Saturday 21 June).

The programme includes music, dance, guided walks, talks, a special exhibition, a family party and a Georgian banquet.

The festival celebrates the lives and times of the exceptional Burney family, most notably Dr Charles Burney, composer, musician and music historian and his daughter, renowned novelist, Frances Burney.

Cllr Elizabeth Nockolds, Borough Council Cabinet Member, said: “This is a fantastic opportunity to reflect upon King’s Lynn’s Georgian heritage and explore the history of one of the town’s most famous families. From exhibitions and scholarly talks to guided walks and fun family events, there really is something for everyone.”

About the Burneys
Trade and commerce prospered in King’s Lynn during the Georgian Age, which began in 1714 with the accession of George I to the throne. A few merchant families dominated town commerce and politics, using their wealth to rebuild their houses in the latest style. Fine examples of the architecture of the age can be seen in King Street, the Tuesday Market Place and Queen Street.

In 1751, poor health drove Dr Charles Burney to bring his young family from London to King’s Lynn. Dr Burney’s son, James Burney was a small child when the family came to King’s Lynn and later sailed twice with Captain Cook and George Vancouver, who was then a young midshipman.

Charles Burney’s cultural influence became pre-eminent in King’s Lynn. Music, dancing, books and picture collecting became the new vogue. After being offered the position of organist at St Margaret’s Church (now known as King’s Lynn Minster), Burney was soon organising balls at the town hall and teaching music and dancing to the town’s elite.

The cultural influence and importance of the Burney family has been further confirmed by Frances Burney. Born in 1752 in a house in Chapel Street, Frances or Fanny became a literary phenomenon.

Frances Burney had written incessantly and secretly since she was ten, confiding to her diary the domestic daily life and hectic social whirl of the Burney family. Her diary and many vivid and colourful letters have survived and offer a unique insight into Georgian social and political life.

Her first novel “Evelina or the History of a Young Lady’s Entrance into the World” was first published in 1778 and was an immediate bestseller. Five English editions were printed and it was translated throughout continental Europe.

The mix of social comedy, realism and wit made the novel a huge success and led London society to speculate on the identity of the writer, who was universally assumed to be a man. Frances was taken up by literary and high society and became the first woman to make writing novels respectable.

Critical appreciation of Frances Burney’s novels and plays continues to grow, sparked by new interest in 18th-century women writers.

The events

6th June – 31st October (daily)
EXHIBITION
Visit a new special exhibition ‘Georgian Lynn and the Brilliant Burney Family’ taking place at the splendid Custom House (Also home of the Tourist Information Centre).

7th and 13th June (afternoons) plus other dates in July, August and September
BURNEY WALKS
Join one our brand new guided walks tracing the lives of the Burney family’s lives in King’s Lynn.

13th June
MUSIC AND MASQUERADE (evening)
A fantastic evening of 18th-century songs and music including pieces by Handel, Haydn and others of the day, and words based on the diaries of Francis (Fanny) Burney. The evening will be presented by actor Karin Fernald, in costume, with singers Bridget Kerrison, soprano, Stephen Miles, tenor and Francis Knights, harpsichord. Tickets, which cost £15, can be purchased from King’s Lynn Corn Exchange, 01553 764864.

18th June
TALK – FANNY BURNEY AMONGST THE NOVELISTS.
An illustrated informative talk at the Lynn Museum, from which the tickets can be bought on 01553 775001 or pop into the museum.

21st June
A PEOPLE’S PARTY (afternoon)
A FREE drop-in family event at the historic Hanse House with Georgian style buffet plus opportunities from learning to dance, silhouette making and card magic.

21st June
GEORGIAN BANQUET (evening)
An atmospheric evening of food and dancing at the Hanse House. Tickets for this event can be booked on King’s Lynn TIC 01553 763044.

21st June. 7.30pm
CONCERT OF CHURCH MUSIC featuring the choir of Gonville and Caius College Cambridge. Tickets for this event can be booked on Box Office 01553 764864.

King’s Lynn Festival
The 64th King’s Lynn Festival will feature a Burney Day on Saturday 19th July.

Download the complete events listings

For more information about the Burney Festival, please visit King’s Lynn Tourist Information Centre (housed within King’s Lynn Custom House) email kings-lynn.tic@west-norfolk.gov.uk or go to www.burneyfestival.com.

Print Friendly

Hanse Day 2014

Mediaeval Babes will headline the event on Saturday.

Mediaeval Babes will headline the event on Saturday.

King’s Lynn’s historic waterfront will be buzzing with activity on 17 and 18 May as the town celebrates its Hanseatic links, past and present, to mark International Hanse Day.

Each year, the 182 cities across 16 countries are encouraged to celebrate their Hanseatic heritage and their involvement in the modern Hanse network. The occasion has been celebrated in King’s Lynn since 2009, and this year, the programme of activities on offer is bigger and better than ever with a host of free events.

Centred on the Hanseatic tradition of music, this year’s Hanse Day celebrations take place on the South Quay, King’s Staithe Square and Saturday Market Place.

The musical performances are headlined by the internationally renowned classical choral ensemble Mediaeval Babes, with performances from local band Jessie’s Ghost, Estonia’s Paabel and Norway’s Eplemoya.

Children’s activities, including making herring kites and signal flags, will take place in the magnificent Town Hall, throughout Saturday 17 May, alongside mediaeval dancing. Along the waterfront there will be guided walking tours, minstrels and fire breathers, together with a Hanse Car Rally display.

Hanse House will be hosting a mediaeval market, craft demonstrations and an opportunity to have a go at archery on the Saturday and Sunday.

Saturday’s celebrations will culminate in a firework display at the South Quay Pontoons at 9.30pm.

Visitors will be able to soak up the atmosphere on the quayside while enjoying tasty hog roasts, BBQs, bratwursts and beers from Hanseatic countries as well as visiting the craft stalls, listening to the story-telling and supporting local businesses.

INTERNATIONAL HANSE DAY PROGRAMME

Saturday 17 May

King’s Staithe Square

16.30 Jessie’s Ghost (from King’s Lynn)
17.30 Paabel (from Estonia)
18.30 Eplemoya (from Norway)
20.00 Mediaeval Baebes (from England)

Town Hall

10.00 – 13.00 Children’s Activities (Stone Hall) – Making Herring Kites
13.30 – 16.30 Mediaeval Dance (assembly Room) – hourly
14.00 – 17.00 Children’s Activities (Stone Hall) – Making Signal Flags

Quayside

10.00 Hanse Car Rally Display (All day)
11.00 Walking the Hanseatic Waterfront
14.00 Hanseatic Guided Walk (Town Guides)
21.30 Fireworks at South Quay Pontoons

Hanse House – Activities 12-6PM

Craft Demonstrations:
Shoemaking & jewellery work
Calligraphy & Illumination
Tilemaking
Wool/Textile processess
Pottery

Mediaeval Market
Have a go at Archery
Storytelling
Mediaeval Cooking

All Saints Church

17.00 Hanseatic Classical Music Concert (featuring Beethoven, Brahms, Chopin and more).

Street Entertainment 12-6pm

Horses & riders, Minstrels, Fire Breathers will be apperaring around the town and along the quayside

Clifton House (Tower only) 11am-4pm

Entrance £3.50 for adults & £1.50 for children under 16

Sunday 18 May

King’s Lynn Minster

11.25 Civic procession from Town Hall to King’s Lynn Minster
11.30 Civic Service at King’s Lynn Minster

Hanse House Activities 11am-4pm

Mediaeval Market
Have a go at Archery
Storytelling

Print Friendly

Lynn’s Port and Railways – A weekend of Heritage

Marriott’s Warehouse, South Quay, King’s Lynn, 1920s

Marriott’s Warehouse, South Quay, King’s Lynn, 1920s

A weekend of free talks, stalls and exhibitions will focus on the history of King’s Lynn, it’s Port and it’s Railways. The event takes place at Marriotts Warehouse, on the quayside, from Friday 25 April till Sunday 27 April.

Friday, 25 April

7:00-7:45pm
Memories of industrial archaeology: Lynn, the Port and Railways in the late 1980s. Dr. Clive J. Bond, Chairperson, West Norfolk and King’s Lynn Archaeological Society

7:45-8:30pm
Wine reception & Railway Memorabilia provided by the B17 Locomotive Trust & viewing of Trevor Nunn’s ‘East Lynn to Nunstanton’ model

The Alexandra Dock, after the opening in 1869

The Alexandra Dock, after the opening in 1869

Saturday, 26 April

10:00-10:20
Welcome and Introduction Dr. Paul Richards, Chairperson, Marriott’s Warehouse Trust.

10:20-11:05
Railways, Rivers and Ports: The Wash and Beyond, 1750-2014
. Tony Kirby

11:05-11:35 Coffee/Tea

11:35-12:15
The Midland and Great Northern Joint Railway and its interests in the town and Port of Lynn Circle, John Hobden,President M&GNR

12:15-13:15 Lunch

13:15-14:00
Rail versus River: how this conflict helped shape transport in Wisbech in the 19th Century – Roger Powell

14:00-14:45
Victorian King’s Lynn and the coming of the Railways – Dr. Paul Richards

14:45-15:15 Coffee/Tea & Raffle

15:15-16:00
Replacing an Icon – Initial manufacture of a Class B17 Express Passenger Locomotive Brian Hall, Chairperson, B17 Locomotive Trust

16:00-16:45
King’s Lynn Station: a Heritage-led Regeneration Project – Larry Heyman, First Capital Connect

16:45-17:00
Discussion and Close Dr. Clive J. Bond and Dr. Paul Richards

Sunday, 27 April

Associated stalls and exhibitions continue into Sunday, 27 April,

10:00-12:00pm:

● Trevor Nunn’s ‘East Lynn to Nunstanton’ model
● Stalls: B17 Locomotive Trust, with railway memorabilia;
● First Capital Connect;
● M&GNR Circle;
● Railway Touring Company;
● Fen Line Users Association

All events take place on the top floor of Marriots Warehouse, and are free.

marriottswarehousetrust.co.uk

Print Friendly

Review: Art Exhibition by Simon Warner

hanse house sprwarner exhibition

We were one of the few visitors to an art exhibition by local artist Simon Warner on Friday, and thought it a real shame that people were missing out on this colourful and quirky collection of paintings and drawings.

We had some trouble finding the exhibition at Hanse House, due to poor signage, but finally found it hidden away on the 1st floor.

The pictures depicting London architecture, life drawing and cartoons were really impressive. Some of the cartoon-style paintings depict life in King’s Lynn and Downham Market, which we found really interesting.

We would recommend anyone to visit the free exhibition, which is showing until Wednesday 30 April at the historic Hanse House on the South Quay in King’s Lynn.

While you are there, it’s also well worth visiting the indoor market and tea room. Delicious food is also available at The Rathskeller in the same building.

facebook.com/sprwarner
hansehouse.co.uk

Print Friendly

Old Pilot Cinema ~ Going Going Gone!

From Picture Palace to Pile of Bricks …

The Pilot Cinema in 1937.

The Pilot Cinema in 1937.

The building as it appeared before demolition.

The building as it appeared in 2012, before demolition.

Workers start to demolish the old Pilot Cinema

The old Zoots nightclub sign lies on one side of the site.

vvv

The front of the building disappears in a pile of rubble.

pilot cinema demolition 3

Half demolished!

caption

Nothing left standing – time to bring on the rubble crushers!

Print Friendly

King’s Lynn at War ~ From Zeppelins to Conkers

Zeppelin L4 – A menacing object in the night skies above King’s Lynn.

On Wednesday evening King’s Lynn Town Guides presented the annual Diana Bullock Memorial Lecture at the Town Hall – King’s Lynn at War, From Zeppelins to Conkers.

Guest speaker Paul Coleman described how the first Zeppelin raid on Britain took place over East Anglia on the night of 19th January, 1915.

The L4 Zeppelin, under the command of Kapitanleutnant Count Magnus von Platen-Hallermund, flew along the Norfolk coast dropping bombs along the way at Sheringham, Brancaster, Heacham, Snettisham, Dersingham, Grimston and finally King’s Lynn.

The first bomb to land on Lynn fell in a field at the rear of Tennyson Avenue.

The next fell on allotments but the next one caused fatalities when it hit houses on Bentinck Road killing Percy Goate aged 14 and Alice Gazely aged 26. Both are reported to have died from shock.

Houses in Bentinck Road were destroyed.

L4 dropped another bomb on some terraced houses where it made a large hole and wrecked a blacksmiths but caused no fatalities. The fifth bomb to fall on King’s Lynn fell in a garden by the docks failing to explode the sixth destroyed an engine at Alexandra Dock.

The last two bombs fell at and around Cresswell Street where the family at No 63 had a lucky escape when an incendiary hit the house causing a fire which was extinguished by neighbours. This final bomb was placed in water by the police and taken into their care. In total the raid on King’s Lynn led to two fatalities and thirteen injured.

Paul Coleman went on to tell the amusing story of how Zeppelins flying over clouds would dangle a member of the crew on a rope, who would then use a telephone to let them know when to drop the bombs!

He also told the story of how school children and boy scouts from across the region collected tons of conkers to aid the war effort. Conkers contain acetone, a vital ingredient used in the production of cordite, a propellant in small arms ammunition and artillery.

By the dockside in King’s Lynn there was a factory producing as much as 90,000 gallons of acetone a year from maize and horse-chestnuts (conkers).

Print Friendly

Treasure returns to King’s Lynn

King John's Cup

King John’s Cup


Voted as one of East Anglia’s favourite masterpieces, the King John Cup will return to the Town Hall this week, where it will once again be on show alongside King’s Lynn’s regalia and civic treasures.

The 15-inch silver gilt cup recently played a starring role in the Masterpieces: Art and East Anglia exhibition that attracted over 40,000 visitors at the Sainsbury Centre for the Visual Arts.

Believed to date to around 1340 and considered to be one of the most important secular standing cups of the period, the cup was voted second favourite of the 277 items on display by exhibition visitors, only being surpassed by John Atkinson Grimshaw’s painting, Silver Moonlight.

Now local people will have another opportunity to enjoy one of King’s Lynn’s most prized possessions as the King John Cup returns to its regular home at King’s Lynn Town Hall.

The cup is exquisitely decorated and rewards close inspection. 21 enamelled panels, showing hunting scenes, circle the delicate bowl of this stately piece. Hounds chase hares and a fox in the imagery that winds around the intricate, heavily decorated gilt foot.

The cup has a long association with King’s Lynn, being first mentioned in the Hall book of King’s Lynn in 1548, where it is listed as the first item in a list of plate delivered to the mayor.

People can see the King John Cup and explore other civic treasures, including the King John sword and King John charter at the Regalia Rooms, King’s Lynn Town Hall from Thursday 20 March. Whilst at the town hall, it’s worth visiting the Tales of the Old Gaol House exhibitions, where people can find out more about the town’s history – be prepared for tales of wealth, murder and witchcraft! The Regalia Rooms and Tales of the Old Gaol House are open Wednesday – Saturday, 10am – 4pm. It is free to view the regalia collection, but there is a small charge to enter the Tales of the Old Gaol House museum.

These are exciting times for the town hall. The borough council is awaiting the outcome of a bid for funding from the Heritage Lottery Fund. If the bid is successful, it could enable a £2.6 million enhancement project to begin. The aim of the ambitious project is to open up the magnificent town hall complex to a wider audience.

For more information about the King’s Lynn Town Hall please visit: www.kingslynntownhall.com

Print Friendly
Search


 KL Text Ads
Your Advert Here
Place your text-ad here at a very affordable cost!




Looking for something?

Visit Enjoy View Eat Sleep Info Contact

Maps
Places to Visit
Weather
Traffic
Trains
Buses
 
What's On
Regular Events
Entertainment

Picture Gallery
Picture Features
Panoramas
Videos
Southgates WebCam

Pubs & Bars
Restaurants
Cafes
Coffee Shops
Take Aways



Hotels
Guest Houses
B&B

Useful Info
Shops
Town Info
Local News
History
Haunted lynn
Property
Jobs

Contact
Advertise
Submit Event




Pyccкий яэык Polski Pûtōnghùa Lietuvių kalba Português